General Information

Croatia is a continental-Mediterranean country with 56.594 m2 of surface area and the population of approximately 4,500,000.

It has been a parliamentary republic since achieving its independence in 1990.

The capital city is Zagreb with population of approximately 800,000. Other big cities include Split, Rijeka, Osijek, Zadar, Šibenik, Dubrovnik, Varaždin, Pula and Karlovac.

Croatia has a largely mild, continental climate, Mediterranean along the coast which is as long as 5,835.30 km. The highest mountain is 1,831 m/nm high, so there are traces of mountain climate in this area. The summers are dry and hot, while the winters are mild and humid. The average temperature is about 0 oC in January and 20 oC in August. On the coast, the temperature in January is approximately 10oC and 25oC in August. The sea temperature is around 12 oC in winter and 25 oC during summer.

The official currency is Kuna (1 HRK=100 lipa). Foreign currency is exchanged in banks, exchange offices, post offices, tourist agencies, hotels and camps. Almost all leading credit cards are accepted at most of the shopping locations.

Croatia can be easily reached by air, roads and railway. The airports are located in Zagreb, Split, Zadar, Pula, Dubrovnik and near Rijeka (Island of Krk). The modern highway system connects the continental and coastal part of Croatia, as well as all destinations in the continental Croatia.    Send article as PDF